Jackson County has a wide variety of education and workforce training options ranging from elementary schools to doctoral programs at SIUC. 

Southern Illinois University Carbondale is a public research university with an enrollment of 20,350. SIUC includes 11 colleges and offers 101 bachelor degree programs, 74 master programs and 32 doctoral/medicine/law programs. SIUC has a Carnegie Classification of RU/H, Research University (high research activity). 

Jackson County is served by two community colleges. John A. Logan College includes nine instructional departments for over 7,300 students. The College’s Center for Business and Industry can design specific training programs for existing and new employees. Shawnee Community College offers nearly 100 academic programs from associate degrees to certificates for its 2,400 students 

Southern Illinois University -

Southern Illinois University Carbondale –

John A. Logan College –

Shawnee Community College – 

Four public unit schools serve Jackson County. Elverado Community Unit District 196 serves northeast Jackson County, Murphysboro Community Unit School District 186 serves the greater Murphysboro area and western Jackson County, and Trico Community Unit School District 176 serves northwest Jackson County and Shawnee Community Unit District 84 serves Southwest Jackson County. 

The greater Carbondale area and southeast Jackson County are served by Carbondale Community High School (a US News and World Report Bronze Medal High School) and elementary school districts Carbondale Elementary School District 95, Desoto Community School District 86, Giant City School District 130, and Unity Point School District 140. 

Carbondale Community High School District 165 –

Carbondale Elementary School District 95 –

DeSoto Community School District 86 –

Elverado Community Unit District 196 –

Giant City School District 130 –

Murphysboro Community Unit School District 186 –

Trico Community Unit School District 176 –

Unity Point School District 140 – 

Jackson County is served by several non public elementary and high schools. 

Archway, Inc.

Brehm Preparatory School –

Carbondale New School –

Christ Lutheran School

Christian Fellowship

Covenant Christian

Faith Christian

Immanuel Lutheran

Murphysboro Christian Academy

Trinity High School

St. Andrews Catholic School

St. Bruno Catholic School