Jackson County - Government

Jackson County is one of 102 counties in Illinois. The County Board consists of fourteen members that are elected from seven districts and govern the county in accordance with formal bylaws and state statute. The Board meets to administer county activities and enact ordinances and resolutions into law. Most of the detailed work of the board is conducted in standing committee meetings. The Board and its chairman along with board staff are responsible for overall fiscal management of all county operations.  

In addition to the County Board, elected County officials include the Sheriff, County Clerk, Circuit Clerk, Treasurer, States Attorney, Coroner and Chief County Assessor.  

Visit Jackson County Website: